Image

Today I was nominated by Jenni Burke for the Liebster Award. Thank you Jenni 🙂 The idea of this award is to help promote relatively new blogs that have a following of less than 200 people.

How does it work?

When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself, then you answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you. After this, you nominate 11 more bloggers and ask them 11 more questions.11 random facts about me.

1) I’m married to Catherine, my amazing wife. 2) I’m the father of two awesome children, Shane (11) and Aoife (2). 3) I’m a vegetarian, but I’m totally cool with cooking meat for other people. 4) I speed read books for the fun of it (if you haven’t tried speed reading, you’re missing out on something really cool). 5) I’ve had 3 near death experiences, brought on by meditation (they really change the way you see the world). 6) I’ve never done a skydive, but I would love to try one. 7) I have an unhealthy addiction to adrenalin, which makes me do stupid things like submit books to publishers and fight people (in a gym, with proper controls) I have absolutely no chance of beating. 8) I love food cooked in Govinda’s restaurant. 9) I don’t think the world will end on 21/12/2012. 10)Teaching martial arts is one of my favourite things to do. 11) I think you’re very patient to have read to the end of this 11 things about me bit.

What is your favorite quote?

This isn’t so much a quote, it’s a speech. So here’s a link to the best speech you’ll ever listen to

😀 Please listen to it. Such powerful, moving words. Here’s the link.

What is your favorite season?

Spring. I feel most awake and alive at this time of year.

What is one of your hobbies?

Reading. I love to read books, blogs, and magazines where the writer expresses something they are passionate about. In particular, I enjoy reading things that get me thinking deeply about the subject.

What is your favorite form of exercise?

That’s a difficult question to answer; I like most forms of exercise. But if I have to chose one, then I’ll say breathing, simply because it has such a deep effect on every level of being, and always leaves me feeling amazing.

What is one piece of advice you’d like to share with the world?

Smile every day. Try do it the moment you wake up. Smiling sets of a cascade of reactions in your body, releasing positive hormones that positively effect you on every level of your being. As well as this, it positively influences your surroundings and the people within them 🙂

What is your biggest dream?

My biggest dream, I would have to say, is to realise my self 🙂

Who is your hero/heroine?

Amma (the hugging saint).

Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

Superman. He fights for those who can’t; he always does the right thing even when he stands to lose everything himself. He’s a true altruist, a bit like Buddha, with the addition of some seriously cool superhuman powers.

Who is your favorite famous person and why?

Tommy Tiernan. He makes me laugh so much my stomach hurts.

What is your favorite book and why?

Seeds of consciousness. That book literally blow me away. After reading the first paragraph of this outstanding piece of work, my mind seemed to dissolve into nothingness. Reading seeds of consciousness was like glimpsing the pure nature of existence. By far the most profound words I’ve ever read. Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj; what an amazing soul.

What is your dream retirement?

I’d love to retire to the countryside, and open a small private dojo, where I could train in and teach Martial arts and yoga to anyone willing to learn.

Now to the 11 bloggers I have nominated:

  • When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself and answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Pass the award onto 11 other blogs (make sure you tell them you nominated them!) and ask them 11 questions.
  • You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you!
  • Make sure the blogs you chose have 200 or LESS followers

My 11 nominated bloggers:

My 11 questions to them:

What do you do to make yourself feel good?

If you only had 1 week to live, what would you do?

If you only had 10 seconds to live, what would you do?

What does the word love mean to you?

What advice would you give a random stranger who’s life you wanted to help improve?

What’s the sound of one hand clapping?

What’s your ideal job?

What do you need to do in order to get your ideal job?

What do you think about reality?

Are you dreaming your life, or are you living your dream?

What’s your favourite thing to eat? (if it sounds tasty, I’ll give it a go)

NOMINEES:

Irish rover

Declan

Jess

Patrick

To know Beauty

Aubury 27

Mary Claire

Chris

lleighh

Thane

Bert

